About Us
Executive Team
Expand/Close All
Rod Whithear – Chief Executive Photo
Rod Whithear – Chief Executive

Rod was appointed Chief Executive in June 2012 and has more than 25 years’ experience in the Commonwealth and Western Australian public sector. He was previously an Executive Director of the WA Treasury responsible for State operating expenditure budgets. 

Rod has held positions in the superannuation, information technology, social services, leasing and corporate finance portfolios of Government. He was part of the team responsible for the sale of Sydney Airports Corporation Limited.

Rick Howe – Deputy Chief Executive
Rick Howe – Deputy Chief Executive
BSc, DipFP

Rick was appointed Deputy Chief Executive in February 2015. He has more than 25 years’ experience in senior executive and consulting roles in financial services. Rick has over 10 years' experience in general insurance with previous roles including General Manager Insurance with ANZ, and Chief Manager, Distribution and Aggregated Products with Westpac Insurance. 

Rick is the Insurance Commission's representative on the Road Safety Council of WA. He is accountable for the insurance operations of the Insurance Commission, including the Fraud Investigations and Business Improvement functions.

Damon DeNooyer – Chief Finance Officer
Damon de Nooyer – Chief Finance Officer

Damon joined the Insurance Commission in 2006 and was appointed Chief Finance Officer in October 2013. He has more than 15 years' experience in finance and accounting, and previously held a finance role with the Tasmanian Government at Department of Treasury and Finance.

He is responsible for the Insurance Commission’s finance, administration and human resource functions.

Kane Blackman – Commission Secretary
Kane Blackman – Commission Secretary
MBA, BSc(Honours), GradDipACG, Dip. Mod Lang, MAICD, FGIA, FCIS

Kane was appointed Commission Secretary in 2013. He is responsible for the Insurance Commission’s corporate affairs obligations, including government relations, stakeholder management and governance, and is Secretary to the Board.

He has more than 14 years' experience in the mining, oil and gas, and financial service sectors, and is a Chartered Secretary. He previously held executive positions in operations, corporate affairs and governance for a range of multinational entities. Kane is also a non-executive director of Therapy Focus, Rare Voices Australia and Injury Matters.

Julie O’Neill – Chief Investments Officer
Julie O’Neill – Chief Investments Officer
MBA, BEc (Hons), DFP

Julie joined the Insurance Commission in 2002 and was appointed Chief Investments Officer in 2007. She has more than 20 years' experience in investment management, including set-up and implementation of multi-manager portfolios and direct management of Australian Equity, Fixed Interest and Cash portfolios. Julie previously worked as an asset consultant to a number of large WA institutional investors.

She is responsible for management of the Insurance Commission's investment portfolio held to offset insurance liabilities.

Glenn Myers – Chief Information Officer
Glenn Myers – Chief Information Officer

Glenn was appointed Chief Information Officer in 2010. He has more than 20 years' experience in the IT sector and is a qualified chartered accountant. Glenn previously held senior management roles in large and medium-sized organisations in New Zealand and South Africa. 

He is responsible for the implementation of the Insurance Commission's Information and Communications Technology to support the insurance functions.

Bruce Meredith – General Counsel
Bruce Meredith – General Counsel
BA, LLB (Hons)

Bruce joined the Insurance Commission as its in-house lawyer in 1991. When it's subsidiary, SGIO was floated in 1994, he became SGIO's general counsel. He was employed for three years as special counsel at the Australian Securities and Investment Commission before returning to the Insurance Commission in 2011 to lead its legal team working on the Bell case. He has over 40 year' experience within government and private practice in criminal, commercial and corporations law.

He is responsible for overseeing the Insurance Commission’s Bell Group interests and for the provision of legal services to the organisation.

Fab Zanuttigh – General Manager CTP Insurance
Fab Zanuttigh – General Manager CTP Insurance

Fab joined the Insurance Commission in 1992 and was appointed General Manager CTP Insurance in 2003. He has over 35 years' experience in the insurance sector and is responsible for the management of the Insurance Commission’s CTP insurance operation.

Janice Gardner - Acting General Manager RiskCover
Janice Gardner – General Manager RiskCover
BComm (Accounting), CPA

Janice was appointed General Manager RiskCover in September 2016. She has more than 30 years experience across a variety of sectors and is a Chartered Professional Accountant. Janice has previously held senior executive roles in medium to large size organisations in Canada and Australia.

She is responsible for the management of the Insurance Commission’s RiskCover Division.

Page Last Updated 13 Nov 2015