Nominations open for 2018 Regional Safety Award

news articles archive

Nominations open for 2018 Regional Safety Award

2017 Winner Cory Payne

30 May 2018

Nominations are now open for the Insurance Commission of Western Australia’s (ICWA) Regional Safety Award at the 2018 Regional Achievement and Community Awards.

The Regional Safety Award rewards Western Australian regional road initiatives that, through their efforts and/or innovation, improve safety in the community.

The Award aims to recognise approaches that encourage fewer and less serious injuries from motor vehicle crashes.

In 2017, New Norcia local Cory Payne won the award for his tireless efforts to educate young people about the importance of road safety, particularly not driving tired.

Cory’s story is a personal one. He was critically injured in a car crash in 2014 and spent over three months in hospital and rehabilitation learning to walk and talk again.

Upon winning the award in 2017 Cory said, “This award will open many doors for me to continue my campaign to increase road safety awareness amongst young drivers on our country roads.”

“I don’t want anyone to go through what I went through, or any family to go through what my family has gone through,” he said.

Commission Secretary Kane Blackman said the Insurance Commission made $145.6 million in claims payments in 2017 to people injured in crashes in regional areas.

“The Regional Safety Award is one way we can acknowledge community members and groups who aim to keep our regional roads safe for everyone,” he said.

“We encourage people living in regional areas to submit their nominations for the 2018 Regional Safety Award.”

Nominations for the 2018 Regional Achievement and Community Awards close on 24 July 2017. Nominate for the Regional Safety Award here.

Page Last Updated 02 Jul 2018

Media contact

Kane Blackman
Commission Secretary
+61 8 9264 3556
+61 418 255 549